Representative Matches

Sponsored by Nixon Cricket, Malton, East Yorkshire 01653 695525

Preliminary Round - in good time for First Round
A Scarboro' Beckett CL v Pontefract & Dist.

First Round - by Sunday 24 June
B Scarboro' Beckett CL v York & Dist. Senior
C Leeds-West Riding v Dales Council
Dales Council 32 all out, LWRCL 33-1 (LWRCL Win by 9 Wickets)
D Donc/Shef'ld All'nce v Nidderdale & Dist
E East Yorks All'nce v South Yorkshire

Semi-final - 19th August
F Scarboro' Beckett CL v Leeds-West Riding @ Staxton CC

Scarborough Beckett League 131 - 3 (David Morris 55 n.o., Ben Luntley 36 n.o., B Hunter 2-12) BEAT Leeds West Riding League 127 all out (A Bowes 30, J Clegg 34, B Weaver 22, Chris Clifford 3-19, Paul Woodhead 3-13) by 7 wickets.

After successful chases against the York Senior League and the Pontefract and District Cricket Leagues, the Scarborough Beckett League Captain had no hesitation in asking the Leeds West Riding League to bat first. The LWRCL opening pair of Caribbeanís Andy Bowes (30) and skipper James Clegg (34) responded well batting steadily to put 63 runs on for the first wicket in 19 overs. However, the introduction of spin swung the momentum as experienced Chris Clifford picked up 3-19 from his 10 overs and Paul Woodhead 3-13 from 5 overs, meaning LWRCL collapsed to 127 all out. This was despite a brisk 22 from Fairburnís Billy Weaver before he was bizarrely dismissed hit wicket. In reply, Ben Hunter bowled with pace and bounce once again picking up an early wicket, Scarborough teetering on 1-1. In Hunterís next over, the dangerous Dave Morris was dropped by Clegg which later proved to be a pinnacle moment. Macky Movies continued to go past the bat with prodigious seam movement, and the back-up bowlers of Everton Wattley, Paul Ellis, Craig Piggott and Sam Strickland continued to pose problems but with little luck. After his early reprieve Morris continued to finish unbeaten on 55 off 90 balls aided by Ben Luntley also unbeaten on 36. Ben Hunter was the pick for the LWRCL claiming 2-12 in 7 overs, but despite their best efforts the LWRCL couldnít prevent a 7 wicket defeat. Big thanks must go to all the players and the officials who have travelled to represent the Leeds West Riding Cricket League this season.

Team: James Clegg (capt), Andy Bowes (wk), Craig Piggott, Franklin Williams, Sam Strickland, Mark Abdy, Macky Movies, Billy Weaver, Ben Hunter, Everton Wattley, Paul Ellis: Steve Turner (Manager & Scorer)
G Winner of D v Winner of E

Final - Sunday 19 August


Semi-final - 12th August @ Cookridge CC
Halifax 231-8, LWRCL 115 all out