LWRCL News Highlights
  1. John Finch

    We have recently learned the sad news of the death of John Finch, our former Chairman and driving force behind the Leeds-West Riding Cricket League. He passed away on Thursday 18 February and his funeral is being held at Brayton Church on Thursday 5 March at 2.15pm

    There is a short obituary to John appearing on the York SCL website from Keith Powell of Drax CC (http://www.yorkercricket.co.uk/news/article.php?s=2015-02-19-john-finch).

  2. Ernest Holroyd - I have to announce the sad news that “Ernest Holstead” died peacefully in the early hours of Wednesday 12th January 2011 in the Prince of Wales Hospice in Pontefract. Ernest went there before Christmas for respite care when his condition required 24 hour care.

  3. The 2009 season represented the final year of the Leeds - West Riding Cricket League. The records here are retained for information purposes only.
  4. The League Presentation Evening - click here to view images from the night.
  5. Averages for 2009 - Click Here
  6. LEEDS-WEST RIDING CRICKET LEAGUE HONOURS 2009 - congratulations to all our winners:

    Sheldon Trophy Division 1 Winners Caribbean CC
    Blackburn Trophy Division 2 Winners Savile Stars ‘A' CC
    Hepworth Cup 1st XI Knockout Comp. Newton Hill CC
    Barnbow Cup 2nd XI Knockout Comp. Savile Stars 'A' CC
    Clifton Town Cup Division 1 Batting T James, Caribbean CC Ave 50.0
    Satterthwaite Cup Division 2 Batting M Akhtar, Cookridge CC Ave 47.8
    Clifton Town Cup Division 1 Bowling E Wattley, Caribbean CC Ave 9.2
    Speight Cup Division 2 Bowling S Shazad, Wakefield Th. CC Ave 7.3
    Ernest Walker Trophy Under 21s Div 1 Batting S Strickland, Pollington CC Ave 35.4
    John Clark Trophy Under 21s Div 1 Bowling C Colley, Newton Hill CC Ave 13.1
    Annual Award Under 21s Div 2 Batting D Bridges, Methley CC Ave 20.6
    Annual Award Under 21s Div 2 Bowling G Mahey, Methley CC Ave 9.7
    White Cup Highest Ind. Div 1 Score S Lawson, Pollington CC 143 runs
    Hemingway Cup Highest Ind. Div 2 Score S Shazad, Wakefield Th. CC 153*runs
    Ron Archer Trophy Division 1 Wicketkeeping R Harris, Newton Hill CC 21 victims
    Featherstone Trophy Division 2 Wicketkeeping R Moss, Cookridge CC 17 victims
    Allrounder Award Division 1 – S Strickland, Pollington CC
    Allrounder Award Division 2 – S Shazad, Wakefield T.CC
    Harry Rawden Trophy Sportsmanship Awards (Clubs Award) Stanley Falcons & Yorkshire Post
    Jim Battersby Trophy Most Wickets in Season S Strickland, Pollington CC 49 wkts
    J Lowe Trophy Most points in last six matches Newton Hill CC
    Walter Cussans Trophy Leeds-West Riding CL Club of the Year Caribbean CC
    Ted Townsend Trophy Man of Match – Hepworth Cup R Harris Newton Hill CC
    Roy Howell Cup Young Player of the Year A Hussain Yorkshire Post CC
    Peter Brannan Trophy Most Improved Ground of Year Newton Hill CC
    Hartley Trophy Secretary of the Year M Stelfox Yorkshire Post CC
  7. Congratulations to Newton Hill on winning the Hepworth Cup (View Images), to Savile Stars 'A' on winning the Barnbow Cup and to Caribbean and Savile Stars A for winning their respective divisions.
    Our best wishes to all teams in their new leagues for 2010.
    Thank you for supporting the website over the last 10 years.
  8. Final League Tables Available
  9. Presentations were made at the League dinner to members for their services to the League(s).


The 2009 season will represent the final season of the League after the disappointing failure of the CYCL Alliance following the unexplained withdrawal of CYCL.

In 2000 the merger of the Leeds & West Riding brought together two of the oldest and most highly respected leagues; the Leeds League formed in 1892 and the West Riding in 1897.

In recent years the Committee has looked at all options to keep the membership together but has reluctantly decided that the future for all clubs can only be with other more geographically convenient and better supported leagues.

It is hoped that all clubs enjoy competitive cricket and have a successful and enjoyable final season.

Good luck and every success in the future wherever you decide to play cricket in 2010 and beyond.